My Top 25 Films of 2015 – Part 5 (5 – 1)

the force awakens.jpg

It’s been my first year of having a Cineworld unlimited card, meaning that I’ve been able to see more films than ever. It’s also the year in which I began this very blog, and began reviewing every film I’ve seen. Now, with 2016 about to arrive, it’s time to take a look back on this year of cinema.

It was a hugely anticipated year, Avengers 2, Star Wars, Jurassic World, Mockingjay Part 2 and a new Bond. Like all years, the world of Film gave us many disappointments, many surprises and a lot in-between, but overall, it gave you an experience that was always worth it.

Last year my favourite films were few, I hadn’t seen as many films as I had in previous years, so this year I decided to rectify this. With over 80 films seen at the cinema, these are the top 25 that I consider to be the very best.

This is the final part of 5 parts that I’ll post in the lead up to New Year, and it may be subject to change in the future, and they may not necessarily correspond with my original reviews, but I believe that these 25 are my favourites of the year.

Enjoy. This is 5-1

5. Paper Towns

Paper-Towns-Quad

My Indie high school drama of the year. A film that grew on me the more I thought about it, and after a second watch, I loved it a lot more. It’s one of those ‘Perks of Being a Wallflower’ types I like so much, and even though it won’t be for everyone, I grew to love it. One scene, in particular, stands out as one of my favourite scenes of the year, as teens become adults, whilst lying under the stars.

4. Paddington

Paddington

A cheat entry perhaps, cause the film was technically released in 2014, but I saw it this year (although I did see it in 2014), but last year I didn’t see many films, and I saw it this year and properly fell in love with it. It’s a warm-hearted, gently funny film with beautifully shot vistas of London and a talented cast.

3. Whiplash

whiplash.34229

The first film I saw this year, and it blew me away. Apart from having the most exhilarating final scene of all time, it’s also one of the most enthralling films I’ve seen in a while. With beautiful jazz music and rich warm cinematography, Whiplash hasn’t been off my mind all year.

2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Star_Wars_Episode_VII_The_Force_Awakens

The hype was real. Star Wars is superb. It’s a fantastic entry into a franchise I hadn’t previously invested too much in. Beautiful cinematography and music, with excellent characters, in particular, Rey, who’s perhaps my favourite character this year, or ever. With heaps of fantastic humour, great shocking moments and not only the best lightsaber battle ever but just a superb fight scene. I LOVED IT, and I’ve seen it the most of any film this year.

1. Inside Out

Stacey-Aoyama-Inside-Out

And of course, my favourite film of the year is a Pixar film. Not any Pixar film, but one of the best Pixar films ever made. This was the first film I reviewed on my blog, and it hasn’t budged since I saw it. It’s practically perfect in every way. I laughed, I cried buckets, and no film can really beat it. Pixar, you take the crown yet again.

 

So. There we go. 2015.

Spectre might have made it into this list on those action scenes alone, and Rogue Nation was nearly in, but in the end, I believe this list is definitive.

It was my first year of having unlimited films, and my first year of writing reviews. It all seems to have meaning to me now, and it fills me with such joy to do this and have people actually give me good feedback. Now, I’m going into 2016 with a lot to look forward, and a blog ready and waiting, it’s all very exciting.

Let’s hope that I’ll have a harder job of picking my favourites come this time in one year.

Happy New Year Everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

