Stream Queens: My top 10 shows of 2015

It’s been a truly fantastic year for TV, from New York City to Pawnee and back again, we’ve said goodbye to some of TV’s best ever shows, and hello to some new favourites. Netflix dominated when it came to original shows, and Amazon Prime wasn’t far behind, as shows like The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones carried on, with their fair share of controversy. Now, without further ado, it’s time to tell you my top 10 TV shows of the year. Enjoy.

10. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

When Michael Scott left The Office, Ellie Kemper as Erin became the shows MVP, now she finally gets her own show, and it’s a barnstorming success. It’s silly and funny and really shows of the true talent of its lead, and the other cast members all flesh out her world. Plus, the titles are excellent.

9. Parks and Recreation

2013_0808_Parks_and_Rec_Show_KeyArt_1920x1080_0

Two of my favourite ever TV comedies ended this year, Parks and Community. The last episodes of one of the greatest shows of all time was a superb send off to this wonderful show, revisiting all of the greatest hits whilst sending our favourite characters into the future with Joy. We’ll miss you Park and Rec, but we’re glad you ended on a high.

8. Transparent

Screenshot 2015-12-02 at 07.42.22

It was my surprise joy earlier this year, with complex characters, wonderful music and sly comedy. It was a hugely watchable show, at only 30 minutes each, it was also really easy to get through. Now I’m going through Season 2, and it’s retained its excellent balance of drama and humour. Brilliant.

7. Sneaky Pete

51GHJs4DFZL._SX940_

Bit of a cheat this one, as it only had one pilot so far, but I hear its getting a full series and I can’t wait. It’s a sharp, quick and slick show from the guy behind House and Bryan Cranston, and Giovanni Ribisi is fantastic as the smart con-man. Bring on more episodes.

6. Community

2013_1210_Community_Show_KeyArt_1920x1080_CA_0

Community is a survivor. Through leaving cast and fired showrunners it has come through it all with its dignity intact. Season 6 wasn’t AS good as the shows best years, but it was still damn funny and at times very sweet. The finale in particular was a triumph of fan service, excellent writing and bloody good jokes. It left the series on a high, now time for that movie.

5. Car Share

car-share_3285702b

As a fan of Peter Kay and a big lover of Bottle Episode type shows like this, Car Share is made for me. It’s really funny, it uses music in great ways and it has a heart. It may be short, but it’s very sweet and I can’t wait to relax and watch it again.

4. Fargo

Screenshot 2015-12-15 at 23.55.26

Ok, another cheat. I’m only 3 episodes in, but I love it. The first episode had me exclaiming wildly with each twist and turn and Martin Freeman is simply unbelievable. I love the style of it, the music and the setting are all beautiful. It’s gripping, fascinating and I just want to watch more.

3. Orange is the New Black

orange-is-the-new-black_season_3_review_under_the_radr

A show I fell instantly love with just had a superb third season. The first episode ended with a beautiful music montage and the rest of the season was a mix of comedy and drama, as we got to know more and more about the characters in Lichfield. It’s such a watchable, impossibly entertaining show, and I hope the 4th season is as good as this last one.

2. Jessica Jones

Screenshot 2015-11-24 at 21.45.46

Another show I haven’t finished, but another show that I just clicked with right away. New York at night, Noir and Jazz. Jessica Jones is a fantastic, strong lead and David Tennant is the scariest villain in years. Everything I want and more.

1. Master of None

Master of None

The sort of show that I fall in love with, hard. Very funny, beautifully real and touching, with superb use of music, a fantastic grasp on modern day issues in relation to Gender, Race and Sex. It has a varied and excellent cast, with Aziz Ansari as the most down to earth and watchable person not on TV, and it’s beautifully shot, with cinematography that makes New York look like a fairytale. My favourite show of 2015 by far.

 

So that was my top 10 TV shows of 2015, all fantastic, some didn’t make the cut. Mr Robot almost got in, but I haven’t finished it yet, and Wet Hot American Summer and The Leftovers, which I’ve only just begun, were good also. It looks like I’ll have a lot of exciting shows to watch next year too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

