My Top 25 Films of 2015 – Part 3 (15 – 11)

big-hero-six-e1415145924663

It’s been my first year of having a Cineworld unlimited card, meaning that I’ve been able to see more films than ever. It’s also the year in which I began this very blog, and began reviewing every film I’ve seen. Now, with 2016 about to arrive, it’s time to take a look back on this year of cinema.

It was a hugely anticipated year, Avengers 2, Star Wars, Jurassic World, Mockingjay Part 2 and a new Bond. Like all years, the world of film gave us many disappointments, many surprises and a lot in-between, but overall, it gave you an experience that was always worth it.

Last year my favourite films were few, I hadn’t seen as many films as I had in previous years, so this year I decided to rectify this. With over 80 films seen at the cinema, these are the top 25 that I consider to be the very best.

This is the Third of 5 parts that I’ll post in the lead up to New Year, and it may be subject to change in the future, but I believe that these 25 are my favourites of the year.

Enjoy. This is 15-11

15. Big Hero 6

Big_Hero_6_poster

Perhaps its the second Disney renaissance, Big Hero 6 is the 5th hit in a row. Whilst I personally adore The Princess and the Frog, Big Hero 6 fits more with Wreck it Ralph, instead of the princesses of Tangled and Frozen. It’s a funny, beautiful and utterly charming film, that delights in every single way. San Fransokyo is beautiful and Baymax is adorable.

14. Crimson Peak

crimson-peak-poster

Gothic Horror done right. Tom Hiddleston is superb. The design and the cinematography are fantastic and the music is eerie. It’s also quite scary, the crooked, bloody ghosts being the most frightening part. It’s lavish and hugely watchable, I love Horror, and this is the best of the bunch this year.

13. Unfriended

Unfriended-2D-Box-Art-820x1024

Almost. This is my favourite surprise of the year. It may be set on one screen but the suspense and terror is genuine. It’s intricate, realistic and unexpectedly engaging. I found myself loving it, the use of sound to create a building, genuinely unnerving atmosphere is masterful.

12. Danny Collins

danny-collins

Another unexpected delight. Warm, sad and funny with great music choices, used in great ways, and some great central performances, especially Bobby Cannavale and Jennifer Garner as Al Pacino’s son and daughter in law. A real surprise gem, that had me tearing up.

11. Kingsman: The Secret Service

Kingsman_poster

The Church scene is the best action scene of the year. It leaves me with excited chills and goosebumps everytime I watch it. It’s choreographed to perfection, and it’s brutally violent. The rest of the film is just a fairly entertaining spy film homage. It has its big issues, involving female characters, but its other action scenes are superbly done to music, like the church scene, but it’s this particular Free Bird set fight scene that really sparks like crazy for me.

 

Check back soon for Part 4

Leave a Reply

