Made for me

Tomorrowland.jpg

Looking at my list of my favourite films 2015, I realise that there are definitely some films on there that won’t be appearing on many other peoples lists of the years. Yep, I have Paper Towns and Tomorrowland on my list, and I know why.

I like a lot of things. Some things I like purely because of how well made it is, Sicario for example, is excellent, but I can’t say I’m a big Mexican cartel fan beyond the limits of say Breaking Bad. There are the films that appeal directly to a certain part of me, and some that capture a distinct aspect of my love for cinema.

My love of Films is highly varied, my favourite films of each year have surprised me more than anyone. It’s something that I’m proud of. I can honestly stand up and say that I love these things, and I don’t care who knows it.

In 2012, my favourite film was ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’, which captivated me with its romanticisation of teenage life, scenes set to lovely music and a thick vein of humour and heart. It’s what I like, the love stuff, the grand gesture, the existential angst of being a teen. I understand how it doesn’t appeal to everyone, but it appeals to me.

That’s pretty much why I loved Paper Towns. Not at first, but the more I thought about it, the more I liked it, and GOT it. One particular scene became rooted in my mind, as two characters, their adult lives stretching out before them, lie under the stars and laugh with each other. It was a perfect moment that captured that joy of the moment, the taking of life by the hand and making it your own.

I’m a sap for love and that sort of inspiration, as long as its in correct doses. I’ve seen reviews for Paper Towns, I get what people say, but I just don’t care, because the film spoke to me on my own personal level, the part of me that sees life as a glass half full, and views life as a big movie.

Psychologically speaking, I might be doing it wrong, but I feel more grown up right now, than I have ever in my whole life. The fact that I can watch a film like Paper Towns, and love it, isn’t some problem with me, I see it as a sign that I’m content within myself, and my life, and I can watch something ultimately sappy, and sentimental, and see it as beautiful and life affirming.

People that think the same about the film, may indeed feel the same, or they may just think it’s funny and sweet.

When it comes to Tomorrowland, a film that basically combines my unabashed love for Disneyland (Paris specifically), the music of my favourite composer and direction from my favourite director, and gives me a romping two hour film that fills me with nostalgia, and leaves me longing for Main Street. Then it has Hugh Laurie in it, and he’s awesome.

Inside Out is Pixar, and I adore Pixar. Whiplash is Jazz and New York, Paddington is the London that I love to think of and Kingsman is all about my love of awesome action scenes, cut to music expertly.

It’s not always or all the time, but more often than not, the films I love have some factor about them that appeals directly to me, whether through nostalgia, or just a preference, and that’s what makes watching them so exciting. If a film really captures me, then it’s because it resonates with a part of me, and it feels like it was made just for me.

 

Leave a Reply

