My Top 25 Films of 2015 – Part 1 (25 – 21)

 

mockingjay 2It’s been my first year of having a Cineworld unlimited card, meaning that I’ve been able to see more films than ever. It’s also the year in which I began this very blog, and began reviewing every film I’ve seen. Now, with 2016 about to arrive, it’s time to take a look back on this year of cinema.

It was a hugely anticipated year, Avengers 2, Star Wars, Jurassic World, Mockingjay Part 2 and a new Bond. Like all years, the world of film gave us many disappointments, many surprises and a lot in-between, but overall, it gave you an experience that was always worth it.

Last year my favourite films were few, I hadn’t seen as many films as I had in previous years, so this year I decided to rectify this. With over 80 films seen at the cinema, these are the top 25 that I consider to be the very best.

This is the first of 5 parts that I’ll post in the lead up to New Year, and it may be subject to change in the future, but I believe that these 25 are my favourites of the year.

Enjoy. This is 25-21

25. Avengers: Age of Ultron

age of ultron

After the immense hype, Age of Ultron failed to live up to most peoples expectations, but in the end, this sequel is a solid action film with some great dialogue and excellent direction from Joss Whedon. As a Whedon fan, the Black Widow controversy left me sad to witness it, and even though the film is the product of too much expectation and a giant budget, putting immense strain on Joss, in the end it was a fun, but understandably flawed blockbuster.

24. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

mockingjaypostersmall_0

The biggest problem with this film, and its predecessor, is the splitting of the third Hunger Games book. The published material was weak in itself, and by dividing up the story, it gave the films a big disadvantage. Still, Part 2 improves on Part 1 by finishing off the story in an exciting and beautiful way. Though it doesn’t reach the heights of the superb Catching Fire, it can’t be denied that Jennifer Lawrence is the greatest heroine of our generation, and an icon for everyone.

23. The Gift

gift_xlg

From first time writer/Director Joel Edgerton comes this smart, effective Horror, thriller that exudes tension and atmosphere. Jason Bateman and Rebecca Hall are great as the disintegrating couple and the twists and turns that occur throughout are engaging to watch.

22. Jurassic World

tumblr_nq3zattMun1u47gvjo1_1280

Jurassic Park is my favourite film, I love the story, I love Chris Pratt and Michael Giacchino. My hype for this was unbelievable. In the end, It’s a great film, but not quite as magnificent as I was hoping. I think in the end, my problem with the film is Chris Pratt’s character, it sounds crazy, but I don’t think he suits the film, which has its flaws. However, the sound of that classic score, the shots of fighting dinosaurs and that island, bring the memories flooding back.

21. The Visit

The Visit

Opinion was split down the middle, but M. Night Shyamalan’s latest film was great in my opinion. It was a good balance of terrifying creepiness, oddball humour and genuine emotion. Its twists and turns were well done, and all in all, it was a surprising, scary film.

Check back soon for Part 2

Leave a Reply

