All fall down: A quick review of The Falling

The Falling (2015)

The Falling (2015)

Maisie Williams stars in The Falling, in which a bout of fainting breaks out in an all girls boarding school in the 1960’s.

It’s a strange one. There’s an awful lot of ambiguity and weirdness going on. Believe me, I’m prone to vaguely haunting, slightly fantasy dramas, in which you don’t really get any answers, but I just found this film to be, not for me.

It reminded me of that film ‘Perfume’ in which it finishes with the weirdest ending I’ve ever seen, and not in a way I liked. This is a bit like that. It has a concept on paper that could be interesting, but it’s not really about that. It explores the sexuality and sexual discovery of young women, and has a lot of imagery that deals with this sort of pseudo psychiatry, but I just didn’t connect with it.

Maisie Williams is great. The music is great. It’s just ones of those films that puts the bellows to ambiguity and ends up blowing smoke.

Rating: C  4/10

Leave a Reply

