Bad Edumacation: A review of The Bad Education Movie

The Bad Education Movie (2015)

The Bad Education Movie (2015)

This is another in a live of home grown British films that are spawned from the success of a popular TV comedy. Yet, this is no ‘The Inbetweeners Movie’, it’s more like ‘Mrs Browns Boys D’Movie’ and is unlikely to set the box office alight. I haven’t seen the show, I don’t think I need to, but maybe I missed something which gave this film a reason to exist.

It isn’t, however, as bad as I thought it would be. It IS bad, don’t get me wrong, it’s completely unfunny, I practically forced out 1/10th of a laugh once, but it was fleeting and I don’t know why I did it. Yet, it’s a partially enjoyable film for a little while, thought that’s not great praise. It’s the usual sitcom to big screen conversion, they go on holiday, this time its to Cornwall and Jack Whitehall as the debauched teacher gets drunk, high and does the sort of dares that leave you wishing you were watching the literal log flume from ‘The Inbetweeners Movie 2’, because it had more class.

I kinda enjoyed some stuff, the holiday idea is a generally enjoyable cliché and seeing a group of people drive about in a coach is something I like to see on Film, ever since ‘Only Fools and Horses’ went on their Jolly Boys Outing. The film is fairly filmy, it has clean looking shots, nothing as repugnant as the visuals in ‘Pudsey the dog: The Movie’, and at least makes an effort at having a reason to live.

Yet, even with more slow mo than is entirely bearable, the film lacks pacing and the music enhances the awkwardness of the scene transitions, but in trying to be ‘The Inbetweeners Movie’, in vulgarity and worthiness, it never manages to. I was surprised with how much I didn’t hate it, even with the opening scene being so utterly awful that I could’ve walked out right then, I managed to stay, and within its badness I felt like I hadn’t seen the worst film of the year.

Rating: C  4/10

Leave a Reply

