Goon Squad: A belated review of The Goonies

The Goonies (1985)

The Goonies (1985)

It took me a while, and a lot of encouragement from my girlfriend and Mum, but I finally watched The Goonies. It’s always been one of those films on my list that I just had to watch, now after all these years, I’ve nailed it down.

It’s a great film, one that I can’t enjoy with the same nostalgic glow as if I had watched it as a child, like Jurassic Park for instance, so I have to judge it off its qualities as a film. It does, however, for me, have a love for the 80’s breed of Spielbergian style that came from this and ET, the warm glow that accompanies the tale of a small American town and a bunch of adventurous kids.

It’s one of the reasons why I loved Super 8 a few years back, it revels in this same quality that The Goonies does. So, I think it was great, perhaps not in the same way that I love the films of my childhood, Jumanji is a great comparison, but it was awesome to finally see it. It was funny and warm, exciting and well directed, with great performances from the kids and a great sense of adventure that makes this the ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark’ for kids.

I can see its appeal, and I would watch it again, with my future children and I’d quote it endlessly in the way you do with great movies. “Hey You Guys” I will say. I can now tick it off my list.

Leave a Reply

